onecle - legal research

Court Opinions

State Laws

US Code

US Constitution

California Vehicle Code Section 22851.12

Legal Research Home > California Laws > Vehicle Code > California Vehicle Code Section 22851.12

22851.12.  The lienholder may charge a fee for lien-sale
preparations not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) in the case of a
vehicle having a value determined to be four thousand dollars
($4,000) or less and not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) in the
case of a vehicle having a value determined to be greater than four
thousand dollars ($4,000), from any person who redeems the vehicle
prior to disposal or is sold through a lien sale pursuant to this
chapter. These charges may commence and become part of the possessory
lien when the lienholder requests the names and addresses of all
persons having an interest in the vehicle from the department. Not
more than 50 percent of the allowable fee may be charged until the
lien sale notifications are mailed to all interested parties and the
lienholder or the registration service agent has possession of the
required lien processing documents. This charge shall not be made in
the case of any vehicle redeemed prior to 72 hours from the initial
storage.
Section: Previous  22851.1  22851.2  22851.3  22851.4  22851.6  22851.8  22851.10  22851.12  22852  22852.5  22853  22854  22854.5  22855  22856  Next

Last modified: March 17, 2014