onecle - legal research

Court Opinions

State Laws

US Code

US Constitution

Georgia Code - Motor Vehicles & Traffic - Title 40, Section 40-3-91

Legal Research Home > Georgia Laws > Motor Vehicles and Traffic > Georgia Code - Motor Vehicles & Traffic - Title 40, Section 40-3-91

(a) A person who:

(1) With fraudulent intent, permits another, not entitled thereto, to use or have possession of a certificate of title;

(2) Willfully fails to mail or deliver a certificate of title to the commissioner or to the purchaser of the motor vehicle or a release of security interest or lien to the owner within ten days of the time required by this chapter, except as provided in Code Section 40-3-90;

(3) Willfully fails or refuses to mail or deliver the certificate of title to the commissioner within ten days after having received a notice, as provided for in Code Section 40-3-27 or 40-3-52; or

(4) Willfully violates any other provision of this chapter

shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) Any person, firm, or corporation which knowingly makes any false statement in any title application as to the date a vehicle was sold or acquired or as to the date of creation of a security interest or lien shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100.00 or imprisoned for a period not to exceed 30 days.

(c) Any person, firm, or corporation which delivers or accepts a certificate of title assigned in blank shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100.00 or imprisoned for a period not to exceed 30 days for the acceptance or delivery of each certificate of title assigned in blank.

Last modified: April 25, 2006