License; Conditions of Issuance; Fee; Duration; Suspension or Revocation; Bonds; Branch Office; Filing Completed Application; Issuance of License Within Certain Time Period; Report;
Legal Research Home > Michigan Laws > Professions And Occupations > License; Conditions of Issuance; Fee; Duration; Suspension or Revocation; Bonds; Branch Office; Filing Completed Application; Issuance of License Within Certain Time Period; Report;
(1) The department, when satisfied of the competency and integrity of the applicant, or if the applicant is a firm, partnership, company, limited liability company, or corporation, of its individual members or officers, shall issue to the applicant a license upon the applicant's paying to the department an application processing fee of $150.00 and an initial license fee of $600.00. The applicant shall execute, deliver, and file with the department a bond in the sum of $10,000.00, conditioned for the faithful and honest conduct of the business by the applicant, which bond shall be approved by the department. The license is valid for 3 years but is subject to suspension or revocation at all times by the department for cause shown. The bonds shall be taken in the name of the people of the state, and any person injured by the willful, malicious, and wrongful act of the principal may bring an action on the bond or insurance in his or her own name to recover damages suffered by reason of such willful, malicious, and wrongful act. In lieu of a bond, the applicant may furnish a policy of insurance issued by an insurer authorized to do business in this state naming the licensee and the state as co-insured in the amount of $10,000.00 for property damages, $100,000.00 for injury or death of 1 person, and $200,000.00 for injuries to or deaths of more than 1 person arising out of the operation of the licensed activity. The license shall be in a form to be prescribed by the department and shall specify the full name of the applicant, the location of the principal office or place of business and the location of the bureau, agency, subagency, office or branch office for which the license is issued, the expiration date, and the name of the person filing the statement required by this act upon which the license is issued.
(2) A licensee desiring to open a branch office or subagency shall receive a license for that branch or subagency upon payment to the department of an additional fee of $125.00 for each additional license. The additional license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the branch office or subagency and expires on the date of the initial license.
(3) If the license is suspended or revoked for any cause, the department shall not refund the license or application processing fee or any part of the license or application processing fee.
(4) Beginning the effective date of the amendatory act that added this subsection, the department shall issue an initial or renewal license not later than 90 days after the applicant files a completed application. Receipt of the application is considered the date the application is received by any agency or department of the state of Michigan. If the application is considered incomplete by the department, the department shall notify the applicant in writing, or make information electronically available, within 30 days after receipt of the incomplete application, describing the deficiency and requesting the additional information. The 90-day period is tolled upon notification by the department of a deficiency until the date the requested information is received by the department. The determination of the completeness of an application does not operate as an approval of the application for the license and does not confer eligibility of an applicant determined otherwise ineligible for issuance of a license.
(5) If the department fails to issue or deny a license within the time required by this section, the department shall return the license fee and shall reduce the license fee for the applicant's next renewal application, if any, by 15%. The failure to issue a license within the time required under this section does not allow the department to otherwise delay the processing of the application, and that application, upon completion, shall be placed in sequence with other completed applications received at that same time. The department shall not discriminate against an applicant in the processing of the application based upon the fact that the license fee was refunded or discounted under this subsection.
(6) Beginning October 1, 2005, the director of the department shall submit a report by December 1 of each year to the standing committees and appropriations subcommittees of the senate and house of representatives concerned with occupational issues. The director shall include all of the following information in the report concerning the preceding fiscal year:
(a) The number of initial and renewal applications the department received and completed within the 90-day time period described in subsection (4).
(b) The number of applications denied.
(c) The number of applicants not issued a license within the 90-day time period and the amount of money returned to licensees and registrants under subsection (5).
(7) As used in this section and section 26, "completed application" means an application complete on its face and submitted with any applicable licensing fees as well as any other information, records, approval, security, or similar item required by law or rule from a local unit of government, a federal agency, or a private entity but not from another department or agency of the state of Michigan.
Section: Previous 338.822 338.823 338.824 338.825 338.826 338.827 338.828 338.829 338.830 338.831 338.832 338.833 338.834 338.835 338.836 Next
Last modified: March 17, 2013