Nevada Revised Statutes Section 179C.100 - Procedure in Criminal Cases
Registration with local law enforcement officer within 48 hours; duties and procedures; registration card may not be required; effect of restoration of civil rights.
1. It is unlawful for a convicted person to be or remain in the State of Nevada for a period of more than 48 hours without, during such 48-hour period, registering with the sheriff of a county or the chief of police of a city in the manner prescribed in this section.
2. A convicted person who does not reside in the State of Nevada but who has a temporary or permanent place of abode outside the State of Nevada, and who comes into the State on five occasions or more during any 30-day period, is subject to the provisions of this chapter.
3. A person who has registered as a convicted person with the sheriff of a county or the chief of police of a city shall register again as provided in this section if he subsequently commits another offense described or referred to in this chapter.
4. A person required by this section to register shall do so by filing with the sheriff or chief of police a statement in writing, upon a form prescribed and furnished by the sheriff or chief of police, which is signed by the person and which provides the following information:
(a) His true name and each alias that he has used or under which he may have been known;
(b) A full and complete description of his person;
(c) The kind, character and nature of each crime of which he has been convicted;
(d) The place in which he was convicted of each crime;
(e) The name under which he was convicted in each instance and the date thereof;
(f) The name, if any, and the location of each prison, reformatory, jail or other penal institution in which he was confined or to which he was sentenced;
(g) The location and address of his residence, stopping place, living quarters or place of abode, and if more than one residence, stopping place or place of abode, that fact must be stated and the location and address of each given;
(h) The kind of residence, stopping place, or place of abode in which he resides, including whether it is a private residence, hotel, apartment house or other building or structure;
(i) The length of time he has occupied each place of residence, stopping place or place of abode, and the length of time he expects or intends to remain in the State of Nevada; and
(j) Any further information that may be required by the sheriff or chief of police for the purpose of aiding and assisting in carrying into effect the provisions and intent of this chapter.
5. The sheriff of a county or the chief of police of a city shall not require a convicted person to carry a registration card, and no convicted person who is required to register pursuant to this section may be punished for the failure to carry a registration card.
6. When so ordered in the individual case by the district court in which the conviction was obtained, by the State Board of Parole Commissioners or by the State Board of Pardons Commissioners, whichever is appropriate, the provisions of this section do not apply to a convicted person who has had his civil rights restored.
Last modified: February 25, 2006