Oregon Statutes - Chapter 426 - Persons With Mental Illness; Sexually Dangerous Persons - Section 426.231 - Physician hold; when authorized; statement required.
(1) A physician licensed by the Oregon Medical Board may hold a person for transportation to a treatment facility for up to 12 hours in a health care facility licensed under ORS chapter 431 and approved by the Department of Human Services if:
(a) The physician believes the person is dangerous to self or to any other person and is in need of emergency care or treatment for mental illness;
(b) The physician is not related to the person by blood or marriage; and
(c) An admitting physician at the receiving facility consents to the transporting.
(2) Before transporting the person, the physician shall prepare a written statement that:
(a) The physician has examined the person within the preceding 12 hours;
(b) An admitting physician at the receiving facility has consented to the transporting of the person for examination and admission if appropriate; and
(c) The physician believes the person is dangerous to self or to any other person and is in need of emergency care or treatment for mental illness.
(3) The written statement required by subsection (2) of this section authorizes a peace officer, a person authorized under ORS 426.233 or the designee of a community mental health and developmental disabilities program director to transport a person to the treatment facility indicated on the statement. [1993 c.484 §3; 1997 c.531 §3]
Note: See note under 426.228.Section: Previous 426.222 426.223 426.224 426.225 426.226 426.228 426.230 426.231 426.232 426.233 426.234 426.235 426.236 426.237 426.238 Next
Last modified: August 7, 2008