Texas Family Code - Section 2.206. Return Of License; Penalty
Legal Research Home >
Texas Laws > Family Code > Texas Family Code - Section 2.206. Return Of License; Penalty
Section: 2.102 2.103 2.201 2.202 2.203 2.204 2.205 2.206 2.207 2.208 2.209 2.301 2.302 2.401 2.402
§ 2.206. RETURN OF LICENSE; PENALTY. (a) The person who
conducts a marriage ceremony shall record on the license the date on
which and the county in which the ceremony is performed and the
person's name, subscribe the license, and return the license to the
county clerk who issued it not later than the 30th day after the
date the ceremony is conducted.
(b) A person who fails to comply with this section commits
an offense. An offense under this section is a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine of not less than $200 and not more than $500.
Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 7, § 1, eff. April 17, 1997.
Speak with a Lawyer in Texas
Last modified: August 11, 2007