Texas Property Code - Section 76.704. Offense
Legal Research Home >
Texas Laws > Property Code > Texas Property Code - Section 76.704. Offense
Section: 76.507 76.601 76.602 76.603 76.701 76.702 76.703 76.704 81.001 81.0011 81.002 81.003 81.101 81.102 81.103
§ 76.704. OFFENSE. (a) A person commits an offense if the
(1) wilfully fails to file a report required by this
(2) refuses to permit examination of records in
accordance with this chapter;
(3) makes a deduction from or a service charge against
a dormant account or dormant deposit of funds; or
(4) violates any other provision of this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by:
(1) a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000;
(2) confinement in jail for a term not to exceed six
(3) both the fine and confinement.
(c) In addition to a criminal penalty, a person who commits
an offense under Subsection (a) is subject to a civil penalty not to
exceed $100 for each day of the violation. The attorney for the
holder shall collect the civil penalty by bringing suit in a
district court of the county in which the holder is located.
Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1037, § 38, eff. Sept. 1,
Last modified: August 11, 2007