onecle - legal research

Court Opinions

State Laws

US Code

US Constitution

California Health and Safety Code Section 11590

Legal Research Home > California Laws > Health and Safety Code > California Health and Safety Code Section 11590

11590.  (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (c) and (d), any
person who is convicted in the State of California of any offense
defined in Section 11350, 11351, 11351.5, 11352, 11353, 11353.5,
11353.7, 11354, 11355, 11357, 11358, 11359, 11360, 11361, 11363,
11366, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11368, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5,
11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, 11383, or 11550, or subdivision (a) of
Section 11377, or any person who is discharged or paroled from a
penal institution where he or she was confined because of the
commission of any such offense, or any person who is convicted in any
other state of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this
state, would have been punishable as one or more of the
above-mentioned offenses, shall within 30 days of his or her coming
into any county or city, or city and county in which he or she
resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register
with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or
the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated
area.
   For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11377,
11378, 11379, or 11380, this subdivision shall apply only to offenses
involving controlled substances specified in paragraph (12) of
subdivision (d) of Section 11054 and paragraph (2) of subdivision (d)
of Section 11055, and to analogs of these substances, as defined in
Section 11401. For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section
11379 or 11379.5, this subdivision shall not apply if the conviction
was for transporting, offering to transport, or attempting to
transport a controlled substance.
   (b) Any person who is convicted in any federal court of any
offense which, if committed or attempted in this state would have
been punishable as one or more of the offenses enumerated in
subdivision (a) shall within 30 days of his or her coming into any
county or city, or city and county in which he or she resides or is
temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the
chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff
of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.
   (c) This section does not apply to a conviction of a misdemeanor
under Section 11357, 11360, or 11377.
   (d) The registration requirements imposed by this section for the
conviction of offenses defined in Section 11353.7, 11366.5, 11366.6,
11377, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, or
11383, shall apply to any person who commits any of those offenses on
and after January 1, 1990.


11590.  (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (c) and (d), any
person who is convicted in the State of California of any offense
defined in Section 11350, 11351, 11351.5, 11352, 11353, 11353.5,
11353.7, 11354, 11355, 11357, 11358, 11359, 11360, 11361, 11363,
11366, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11368, 11370.1, 11378, 11378.5, 11379,
11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, 11383, or 11550, or subdivision (a)
of Section 11377, or any person who is discharged or paroled from a
penal institution where he or she was confined because of the
commission of any such offense, or any person who is convicted in any
other state of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this
state, would have been punishable as one or more of the
above-mentioned offenses, shall within 30 days of his or her coming
into any county or city, or city and county in which he or she
resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register
with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or
the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated
area.
   For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11377,
11378, 11379, or 11380, this subdivision shall apply only to offenses
involving controlled substances specified in paragraph (12) of
subdivision (d) of Section 11054 and paragraph (2) of subdivision (d)
of Section 11055, and to analogs of these substances, as defined in
Section 11401. For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section
11379 or 11379.5, this subdivision shall not apply if the conviction
was for transporting, offering to transport, or attempting to
transport a controlled substance.
   (b) Any person who is convicted in any federal court of any
offense which, if committed or attempted in this state would have
been punishable as one or more of the offenses enumerated in
subdivision (a) shall, within 30 days of his or her coming into any
county or city, or city and county, in which he or she resides or is
temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the
chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff
of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.
   (c) This section does not apply to a conviction of a misdemeanor
under Section 11357, 11360, or 11377.
   (d) The registration requirements imposed by this section for the
conviction of offenses defined in Section 11353.7, 11366.5, 11366.6,
11370.1, 11377, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380,
11380.5, or 11383, shall apply to any person who commits any of those
offenses on and after January 1, 1990.

Section: 11590  11591  11591.5  11592  11593  11594  11595  Next

Last modified: March 17, 2014