onecle - legal research

Court Opinions

State Laws

US Code

US Constitution

California Penal Code Section 1320

Legal Research Home > California Laws > Penal Code > California Penal Code Section 1320

1320.  (a) Every person who is charged with or convicted of the
commission of a misdemeanor who is released from custody on his or
her own recognizance and who in order to evade the process of the
court willfully fails to appear as required, is guilty of a
misdemeanor. It shall be presumed that a defendant who willfully
fails to appear within 14 days of the date assigned for his or her
appearance intended to evade the process of the court.
   (b) Every person who is charged with or convicted of the
commission of a felony who is released from custody on his or her own
recognizance and who in order to evade the process of the court
willfully fails to appear as required, is guilty of a felony, and
upon conviction shall be punished by a fine not exceeding five
thousand dollars ($5,000) or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision
(h) of Section 1170, or in the county jail for not more than one
year, or by both that fine and imprisonment. It shall be presumed
that a defendant who willfully fails to appear within 14 days of the
date assigned for his or her appearance intended to evade the process
of the court.

Section: 1320  1320.5  Next

Speak with a Lawyer in California

Last modified: March 17, 2014