onecle - legal research

Court Opinions

State Laws

US Code

US Constitution

California Vehicle Code Section 14601.1

Legal Research Home > California Laws > Vehicle Code > California Vehicle Code Section 14601.1

14601.1.  (a) No person shall drive a motor vehicle when his or her
driving privilege is suspended or revoked for any reason other than
those listed in Section 14601, 14601.2, or 14601.5, if the person so
driving has knowledge of the suspension or revocation. Knowledge
shall be conclusively presumed if mailed notice has been given by the
department to the person pursuant to Section 13106. The presumption
established by this subdivision is a presumption affecting the burden
of proof.
   (b) Any person convicted under this section shall be punished as
follows:
   (1) Upon a first conviction, by imprisonment in the county jail
for not more than six months or by a fine of not less than three
hundred dollars ($300) or more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or
by both that fine and imprisonment.
   (2) If the offense occurred within five years of a prior offense
which resulted in a conviction of a violation of this section or
Section 14601, 14601.2, or 14601.5, by imprisonment in the county
jail for not less than five days or more than one year and by a fine
of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) or more than two
thousand dollars ($2,000).
   (c) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from driving a
motor vehicle, which is owned or utilized by the person's employer,
during the course of employment on private property which is owned or
utilized by the employer, except an offstreet parking facility as
defined in subdivision (d) of Section 12500.
   (d) When the prosecution agrees to a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere to a charge of a violation of this section in satisfaction
of, or as a substitute for, an original charge of a violation of
Section 14601.2, and the court accepts that plea, except, in the
interest of justice, when the court finds it would be inappropriate,
the court shall, pursuant to Section 23575, require the person
convicted, in addition to any other requirements, to install a
certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person
owns or operates for a period not to exceed three years.
   (e) This section also applies to the operation of an off-highway
motor vehicle on those lands to which the Chappie-Z'berg Off-Highway
Motor Vehicle Law of 1971 (Division 16.5 (commencing with Section
38000)) applies as to off-highway motor vehicles, as described in
Section 38001.

Section: Previous  14600  14601  14601.1  14601.2  14601.3  14601.4  14601.5  14601.8  14602  14602.1  14602.5  14602.6  14602.7  14602.8  14602.9  Next

Speak with a Lawyer in California

Last modified: March 17, 2014