Article 4. Payment of Fees - California Vehicle Code Section 9552
Legal Research Home >
California Laws > Vehicle Code > Article 4. Payment of Fees - California Vehicle Code Section 9552
9552. (a) Whenever any vehicle is operated upon any highway of this
state without the fees first having been paid as required by this
code, and those fees have not been paid within 20 days of its first
operation, those fees are delinquent, except as provided in
(b) Fees are delinquent whenever application for renewal of
registration, or any application for renewal of special license
plates, is made after midnight of the expiration date of the
registration or special plates, or 60 days after the date the
registered owner is notified by the department pursuant to Section
1661, whichever is later.
(c) Whenever any person has received as transferee a properly
endorsed certificate of ownership and the transfer fee has not been
paid as required by this code within 10 days, the fee is delinquent.
(d) Whenever any person becomes an automobile dismantler, dealer,
manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor branch,
or transporter without first having paid the license and special
plate fees as required by this code, the fees are delinquent.
Last modified: February 16, 2015