Nevada Revised Statutes Section 608.018 - Labor and Industrial Relations
Compensation for overtime: Requirement; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, an employer shall pay one and one-half times an employee’s regular wage rate whenever an employee works:
(a) More than 40 hours in any scheduled week of work; or
(b) More than 8 hours in any workday unless by mutual agreement the employee works a scheduled 10 hours per day for 4 calendar days within any scheduled week of work.
2. The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to:
(a) Employees who are not covered by the minimum wage provisions of NRS 608.250;
(b) Employees who receive compensation for employment at a rate not less than one and one-half times the minimum rate prescribed pursuant to NRS 608.250;
(c) Outside buyers;
(d) Salesmen earning commissions in a retail business if their regular rate is more than one and one-half times the minimum wage, and more than one-half their compensation comes from commissions;
(e) Employees who are employed in bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacities;
(f) Employees covered by collective bargaining agreements which provide otherwise for overtime;
(g) Drivers, drivers’ helpers, loaders and mechanics for motor carriers subject to the Motor Carrier Act of 1935, as amended;
(h) Employees of a railroad;
(i) Employees of a carrier by air;
(j) Drivers or drivers’ helpers making local deliveries and paid on a trip-rate basis or other delivery payment plan;
(k) Drivers of taxicabs or limousines;
(l) Agricultural employees;
(m) Employees of business enterprises having a gross sales volume of less than $250,000 per year; and
(n) Any salesman or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks or farm equipment.
3. The provisions of this section do not apply to a mechanic or workman for any hours to which the provisions of subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 338.020 apply.
Speak with a Lawyer in Nevada
Last modified: February 25, 2006