Oregon Statutes - Chapter 181 - State Police; Crime Reporting and Records; Public Safety Standards and Training - Section 181.597 - Reporting by certain persons upon moving into state; reporting by certain nonresidents.
(1)(a) When a person listed in subsection (2) of this section moves into this state and is not otherwise required by ORS 181.595 or 181.596 to report, the person shall report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office:
(A) No later than 10 days after moving into this state;
(B) Within 10 days of a change of residence; and
(C) Once each year within 10 days of the person’s birth date, regardless of whether the person changed residence.
(b) When a person listed in subsection (2) of this section attends school or works in this state, resides in another state and is not otherwise required by ORS 181.595 or 181.596 to report, the person shall report, in person, to the department, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office no later than 10 days after:
(A) The first day of school attendance or the 14th day of employment in this state; and
(B) A change in school enrollment or employment.
(c) As used in paragraph (b) of this subsection, “attends school” means enrollment in any type of school on a full-time or part-time basis.
(d) When a person reports under paragraph (a) of this subsection, the agency or official to whom the person reports shall complete a sex offender registration form concerning the person.
(e) The obligation to report under this section terminates if the conviction or adjudication that gave rise to the obligation is reversed or vacated or if the registrant is pardoned.
(2) Subsection (1) of this section applies to:
(a) A person convicted in another jurisdiction of a crime if the elements of the crime would constitute a sex crime;
(b) A person found by a court in another jurisdiction to have committed an act while the person was under 18 years of age that would constitute a sex crime if committed in this state by an adult; and
(c) A person required to register in another state for having committed a sex offense in that state regardless of whether the crime would constitute a sex crime in this state.
(3) As part of the registration required under this section, the Department of State Police, a city police department or a sheriff’s office:
(a) Shall photograph the person and obtain the signature of the person; and
(b) May fingerprint the person. [1995 c.429 §§2,4; 1997 c.538 §5; 1997 c.709 §3; 1999 c.626 §5; amendments by 1999 c.626 §29 repealed by 2001 c.884 §1; 2005 c.567 §15]
Note: 181.597 to 181.602 were enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a part of ORS chapter 181 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.Section: Previous 181.589 181.590 181.592 181.593 181.594 181.595 181.596 181.597 181.598 181.599 181.600 181.601 181.602 181.603 181.604 Next
Last modified: August 7, 2008