Code of Alabama - Title 11: Counties and Municipal Corporations - Section 11-58-4 - Board of directors

Section 11-58-4 - Board of directors.

Each corporation formed under this chapter shall have a board of directors which shall constitute the governing body of the corporation, consisting of three members who shall serve without compensation, except that they shall be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties under this chapter and, at the discretion of the board of directors, may be paid a director's fee of ten dollars ($10) for each director's meeting attended by them not to exceed a total of one hundred twenty dollars ($120) per member per year. No member of the board shall be an officer of the municipality or county. The directors of the corporation shall be elected by the governing body of the respective municipality or county and they shall be so elected that they shall hold office for staggered terms. The first term of office of one director shall be two years, of another director shall be four years, and of a third director shall be six years, as shall be designated at the time of their election. Thereafter the term of office of each director shall be six years.

(Acts 1955, No. 516, p. 1160, §3; Acts 1994, No. 94-642, p. 1203, §1.)

Last modified: May 3, 2021