Code of Alabama - Title 34: Professions and Businesses - Section 34-13-90 - License required; fees

Section 34-13-90 - License required; fees.

(a) No person shall follow, engage in, or hold himself or herself out as engaged in the practice as an embalmer unless licensed to do so by the Alabama Board of Funeral Service. The board is granted authority to issue licenses to embalmers.

(b) All persons shall qualify for examination in accordance with this chapter and shall be licensed as an embalmer only after due examination by the board and the payment of an examination and license fee to be established by the board, not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).

(c) In addition, the board shall establish and charge a reasonable examination fee, based on actual costs, for each applicant who sits for an examination. In no event shall the fee exceed fifty dollars ($50) above the actual cost of preparing and administering such exam.

(Acts 1975, No. 214, p. 705, §10; Acts 1981, No. 81-200, p. 234, §4; Acts 1981, No. 81-709, p. 1190, §1; Acts 1991, No. 91-196, §3; Act 2011-623, p. 1439, §1.)

Last modified: May 3, 2021