Code of Alabama - Title 45: Local Laws - Section 45-23A-21 - City council

Section 45-23A-21 - City council.

(a) Notwithstanding any law, whether special, local, general, or municipal ordinance, to the contrary, pursuant to Civil Action No. 85-T-1332-N, U.S. District Court for the Middle District Northern Division Federal Court Order, the City of Daleville in Dale County, shall not designate by place number or by other similar method seats for its city council.

(b) The City Council of the City of Daleville, Alabama, shall consist of five members elected at large, without designated or numbered places. In the election of members of the city council, the five candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected to the council. There shall be no runoff election. In the event of a tie vote for the fifth highest receiving votes, the winner shall be selected by a majority vote of the newly elected mayor and council. In the election for members of the city council, each qualified voter shall be entitled to vote for any number of candidates from one to five, as he or she chooses, but may cast no more than one vote for a candidate.

(c) The requirement for office, application for candidacy, and the fees shall continue to be set by resolution of the city council. It is expressly provided that all other provisions of law and ordinances relating to elections for city council members shall remain effective and, except as provided, the office of city council member and the operation of the governing body of Daleville, Alabama, shall continue as otherwise provided by law.

(Act 93-568, p. 947, §§1-3.)

Last modified: May 3, 2021