Code of Alabama - Title 8: Commercial Law and Consumer Protection - Section 8-34-2 - License required

Section 8-34-2 - License required.

(a) Each dealer engaged in the business of purchasing precious items for the purpose of reselling the items shall purchase a state license in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) and a county license in the amount of fifty dollars ($50) under Article 1, Chapter 12, Title 40. The dealer shall purchase one state license per year and shall annually purchase the county license in each county where he or she conducts business. No dealer shall operate in the State of Alabama unless he or she first obtains the business license required herein to engage in the business of purchasing precious items.

(b) A dealer may only operate from the permanent place of business listed on the business license. The dealer shall forward a copy of each state and county license to the local law enforcement agency within five days of receipt.

(Act 2010-732, p. 1843, §2.)

Last modified: May 3, 2021