Illinois Compiled Statutes 50 ILCS 705 Illinois Police Training Act. Section 3

    (50 ILCS 705/3) (from Ch. 85, par. 503)

    Sec. 3. Board - composition - appointments - tenure - vacancies. The Board shall be composed of 20 members selected as follows: The Attorney General of the State of Illinois, the Director of State Police, the Director of Corrections, the Superintendent of the Chicago Police Department, the Sheriff of Cook County, the Director of the Illinois Police Training Institute, the Special Agent in Charge of the Springfield, Illinois, division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the following to be appointed by the Governor: 2 mayors or village presidents of Illinois municipalities, 2 Illinois county sheriffs from counties other than Cook County, 2 managers of Illinois municipalities, 2 chiefs of municipal police departments in Illinois having no Superintendent of the Police Department on the Board, 2 citizens of Illinois who shall be members of an organized enforcement officers' association, one active member of a statewide association representing sheriffs, and one active member of a statewide association representing municipal police chiefs. The appointments of the Governor shall be made on the first Monday of August in 1965 with 3 of the appointments to be for a period of one year, 3 for 2 years, and 3 for 3 years. Their successors shall be appointed in like manner for terms to expire the first Monday of August each 3 years thereafter. All members shall serve until their respective successors are appointed and qualify. Vacancies shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired terms.

(Source: P.A. 97-327, eff. 1-1-12; 97-747, eff. 7-6-12.)

Sections:  Previous  1  2  3  4  5  6  6.1  7  7.5  8  8.1  8.2  9  9.1  10  Next

Last modified: February 18, 2015