New Jersey Revised Statutes § 10:5-7 - Composition Of Division; Commission; Membership; Appointment; Term; Vacancies; Compensation

10:5-7. Composition of division; commission; membership; appointment; term; vacancies; compensation
The said division shall consist of the Attorney General and the commission. The commission shall consist of 7 members; each member shall be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, for a term of 5 years and until his successor is appointed and qualified, except that of those first appointed, one shall be appointed for a term of 1 year, one for a term of 2 years, one for a term of 3 years and 2 for a term of 4 years. Vacancies caused other than by expiration of term shall be filled in the same manner but for the unexpired term only. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. The first chairman of the commission shall be designated by the Governor and thereafter, the chairman shall be elected by the members, annually.

L.1945, c. 169, p. 590, s. 7. Amended by L.1949, c. 11, p. 40, s. 4; L.1963, c. 40, s. 3.

Section: Previous  10-5-3  10-5-3.1  10-5-4  10-5-4.1  10-5-5  10-5-5.1  10-5-6  10-5-7  10-5-8  10-5-8.1  10-5-9.1  10-5-9.2  10-5-10  10-5-11  10-5-12  Next

Last modified: October 11, 2016