North Carolina General Statutes § 115C-210.1 Membership - How appointed

The Council shall consist of 15 members, as follows:

(1)        Two legislative members (one senator appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and one representative appointed by the Speaker of the House);

(2)        Two Indian members from higher education to be appointed by the Board of Governors of the University system;

(3)        One Indian member from the North Carolina Commission on Indian Affairs to be appointed by that Commission;

(4)        Eight Indian parents of students enrolled in public schools and two Indian educators from public elementary/secondary schools to be appointed by the State Board of Education from a list submitted by the North Carolina Commission on Indian Affairs;

(5)        Indian members of the Council shall be broadly representative of North Carolina Indian tribes and organizations, specifically, the Eastern Band of Cherokee, Lumbee, Coharie, Waccamaw-Siouan, Haliwa Saponi, Meherrin, Person County Indians, Cumberland County Association for Indian People, the Guilford Native American Association, the Metrolina Native American Association, and any other Indian tribe gaining State recognition in the future. (1987 (Reg. Sess., 1988), c. 1084, s. 1; 1991, c. 739, s. 13; 1997-456, s. 27.)

Sections:  Previous  115C-205  115C-206  115C-207  115C-208  115C-209  115C-209.1  115C-210  115C-210.1  115C-210.2  115C-210.3  115C-210.4  115C-215  115C-216  115C-230  115C-231  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014