North Carolina General Statutes § 143B-115 John Motley Morehead Memorial Commission - members; selection; quorum; compensation

The John Motley Morehead Memorial Commission shall consist of 19 members as follows: nine members appointed by the Governor; three members appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County; three members appointed by the City Council of Greensboro; and four ex officio members, as follows: the Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources or designee, the Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee, the State Treasurer or designee and the Secretary of Cultural Resources or designee. The initial members of the Commission shall be the members of the present John Motley Morehead Memorial Commission who shall serve for a period equal to the remainder of their current terms on the John Motley Morehead Memorial Commission. At the end of the respective terms of office of the initial members, the appointments of their successors, with the exception of the ex officio members, shall be for terms of six years and until their successors are appointed and qualify. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term. The Commission shall elect its own officers. Members of the Commission shall serve without pay and without expense allowance from State funds. The Commission shall determine its requirements for a quorum. (1973, c. 476, s. 114; 1977, c. 711, s. 4; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(124); 1997-443, s. 11A.119(a).)

Sections:  Previous  143B-108  143B-109  143B-110  143B-111  143B-112  143B-113  143B-114  143B-115  143B-121  143B-122  143B-123  143B-124  143B-125  143B-126  143B-127  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014