North Carolina General Statutes § 95-256 Penalties

(a)        The Commissioner may levy a civil penalty, not to exceed the amounts listed as follows, for a violation of this Article:

Employers with 10 or less employees                                                            $    2,000

Employers with 11-50 employees                                                                  $    5,000

Employers with 51-100 employees                                                                 $10,000

Employers with more than 100 employees                                                      $25,000.

(b)        The Commissioner, in determining the amount of the penalty, shall consider the nature of the violation, whether it is a first or subsequent violation, and the steps taken by the employer to remedy the violation upon discovery of the violation.

(c)        An employer may appeal a penalty levied by the Commissioner pursuant to this section to the North Carolina Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission subject to the procedures and requirements applicable to contested penalties under Article 16 of this Chapter. The determination of the Commission shall be final unless further appeal is made to the courts under the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

(d)       All civil penalties and interest recovered by the Commissioner, together with any costs, shall be paid into the General Fund of the State. (1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 962, s. 1; 2005-133, s. 1; 2006-226, s. 30.)

Sections:  Previous  95-250  95-251  95-252  95-253  95-254  95-255  95-255.1  95-256  95-260  95-261  95-262  95-263  95-264  95-265  95-266  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014