Oregon Statutes - Chapter 109 - Parent and Child Rights and Relationships - Section 109.675 - Right to diagnosis or treatment for mental or emotional disorder or chemical dependency without parental consent.

(1) A minor 14 years of age or older may obtain, without parental knowledge or consent, outpatient diagnosis or treatment of a mental or emotional disorder or a chemical dependency, excluding methadone maintenance, by a physician licensed by the Oregon Medical Board, a psychologist licensed by the State Board of Psychologist Examiners, a nurse practitioner registered by the Oregon State Board of Nursing, a clinical social worker licensed by the State Board of Clinical Social Workers or a community mental health and developmental disabilities program established and operated pursuant to ORS 430.620 when approved to do so by the Department of Human Services pursuant to rule.

(2) However, the person providing treatment shall have the parents of the minor involved before the end of treatment unless the parents refuse or unless there are clear clinical indications to the contrary, which shall be documented in the treatment record. The provisions of this subsection do not apply to:

(a) A minor who has been sexually abused by a parent; or

(b) An emancipated minor, whether emancipated under the provisions of ORS 109.510 and 109.520 or 419B.550 to 419B.558 or, for the purpose of this section only, emancipated by virtue of having lived apart from the parents or legal guardian while being self-sustaining for a period of 90 days prior to obtaining treatment as provided by this section. [1985 c.525 §1; 1989 c.721 §47; 1993 c.546 §137; 1997 c.249 §38]

Section:  Previous  109.620  109.630  109.640  109.650  109.660  109.670  109.672  109.675  109.680  109.685  109.690  109.695  109.697  109.700  109.701  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008