Oregon Statutes - Chapter 803 - Vehicle Title and Registration - Section 803.103 - Vehicle identification number check.

(1) With every vehicle title transfer, the Department of Transportation shall check the vehicle identification number or numbers on the vehicle title or other primary ownership records against those listed as stolen by the Law Enforcement Data System. If the check indicates the vehicle is stolen, the department:

(a) Shall immediately notify the Oregon State Police or, if the department determines it would be appropriate to do so, notify another law enforcement agency; and

(b) Shall not issue title within 30 days of giving the notice required by paragraph (a) of this subsection unless the department is notified before the end of the 30 days that the vehicle is not stolen. After the passage of the 30-day period, the department may issue the title.

(2) The department may issue title to a vehicle that is listed as stolen without giving the notice required by of subsection (1)(a) of this section if the department is satisfied that the applicant for title is the person from whom the vehicle was stolen or is the insurer of that person.

(3) The department may check with the National Crime Information Center and the Law Enforcement Data System for information about vehicles in situations other than those specified in ORS 803.212 and subsections (1) and (2) of this section if the department determines that it is appropriate to do so. [1991 c.576 §§3,4; 1993 c.233 §32]

Section:  Previous  803.092  803.094  803.095  803.097  803.098  803.100  803.102  803.103  803.105  803.106  803.108  803.110  803.112  803.113  803.114  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008