Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298, 3 (1992)

Page:   Index   Previous  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  Next




John E. Gaggini argued the cause for petitioner. With him on the briefs were Don S. Harnack, Richard A. Hanson, James H. Peters, Nancy T. Owens, and William P. Pearce.

Nicholas J. Spaeth, Attorney General of North Dakota, argued the cause for respondent. With him on the brief were Laurie J. Loveland, Solicitor General, Robert W. Wirtz, Assistant Attorney General, and Alan H. Friedman, Special Assistant Attorney General.*

*Briefs of amici curiae urging reversal were filed for the State of New Hampshire et al. by John P. Arnold, Attorney General of New Hampshire, and Harold T. Judd, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Charles M. Oberly III, Attorney General of Delaware, and John R. McKernan, Jr., Governor of Maine; for the American Bankers Association et al. by John J. Gill III, Michael F. Crotty, and Frank M. Salinger; for the American Council for the Blind et al. by David C. Todd and Timothy J. May; for Arizona Mail Order Co., Inc., et al. by Maryann B. Gall, Timothy B. Dyk, Michael J. Meehan, Frank G. Julian, David J. Bradford, George S. Isaacson, Martin I. Eisenstein, and Stuart A. Smith; for Carrot Top Industries, Inc., et al. by Charles A. Trost and James F. Blumstein; for the Clarendon Foundation by Ronald D. Maines; for the Coalition for Small Direct Marketers by Richard J. Leighton and Dan M. Peterson; for the Direct Marketing Association by George S. Isaacson, Martin I. Eisenstein, and Robert J. Levering; for the National Association of Manufacturers et al. by Bruce J. Ennis, Jr., David W. Ogden, Jan S. Amundson, and John Kamp; for Magazine Publishers of America, Inc., et al. by Eli D. Minton, James R. Cregan, Ian D. Volner, and Stephen F. Owen, Jr.; and for the Tax Executives Institute, Inc., by Timothy J. McCormally.

Briefs of amici curiae urging affirmance were filed for the State of Connecticut et al. by Richard Blumenthal, Attorney General of Connecticut, and Paul J. Hartman, Charles W. Burson, Attorney General of Tennessee, Daniel E. Lungren, Attorney General of California, Winston Bryant, Attorney General of Arkansas, Robert A. Butterworth, Attorney General of Florida, Michael J. Bowers, Attorney General of Georgia, Larry EchoHawk, Attorney General of Idaho, Roland W. Burris, Attorney General of Illinois, Bonnie J. Campbell, Attorney General of Iowa, Frederic J. Cowan, Attorney General of Kentucky, William J. Guste, Jr., Attorney General of Louisiana, J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Attorney General of Maryland, Scott Harshbarger, Attorney General of Massachusetts, Frank J. Kelley, Attorney General of Michigan, Mike Moore, Attorney General of Mississippi, Frankie Sue Del Papa, Attorney General of Nevada, Robert

Page:   Index   Previous  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  Next

Last modified: October 4, 2007