New Jersey Revised Statutes § 40:69a-149.8 - Mayoral Appointments; Municipal Departments

40:69A-149.8. Mayoral appointments; municipal departments
a. The mayor shall nominate, and with the advice and consent of the council appoint, a municipal administrator, an assessor, a tax collector, an attorney, a clerk, a treasurer and such other officers as may be provided by ordinance. Except where otherwise prohibited by general law, one person may be appointed to two or more such offices, except that one person shall not be simultaneously the assessor and treasurer, or assessor and collector. All such officers shall be annually appointed unless another term is provided by this article or by general law.

b. The municipality may provide by ordinance for the establishment of municipal departments, not to exceed six in number. Each department shall be headed by a director, who shall be appointed by the mayor with the advice and consent of the counciL. Each department head shall serve during the term of office of the mayor appointing him, and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. The mayor may remove any department head upon written notice to the council. The council may remove department heads for cause after hearing.

The municipal administrator shall supervise the administration of each of the departments established by ordinance. For this purpose, the municipal administrator shall have the power to investigate the organization and operations of any department, to prescribe standards and rules of administrative practice and procedure, and to consult with the heads of departments.

L. 1981, c. 465, s. 36, eff. Jan. 9, 1982. Amended by L. 1985, c. 458, s. 1, eff. Jan. 15, 1986.

Section: Previous  40-69a-149.1  40-69a-149.2  40-69a-149.3  40-69a-149.4  40-69a-149.5  40-69a-149.6  40-69a-149.7  40-69a-149.8  40-69a-149.8a  40-69a-149.9  40-69a-149.10  40-69a-149.11  40-69a-149.12  40-69a-149.13  40-69a-149.14  Next

Last modified: October 11, 2016