New Jersey Revised Statutes § 40:75-2 - Subsequent Commissioner; Election And Terms.

40:75-2 Subsequent commissioner; election and terms.

40:75-2. On the second Tuesday in May in every fourth year thereafter there shall be elected at a regular municipal election held pursuant to the "Uniform Nonpartisan Elections Law," P.L.1981, c.379 (C.40:45-5 et seq.), the number of persons as hereinbefore provided as commissioners to serve for the term of 4 years and until their successors shall have been elected and duly qualified. The term of office of all succeeding commissioners shall commence at twelve o'clock noon on the third Tuesday of May next ensuing their election.

If the election is held on the day of the general election in November pursuant to subsection a. of section 1 of P.L.2009, c.196 (C.40:45-7.1), the term of office of commissioners elected shall commence at twelve o'clock noon on January 1 next following their election.

Amended 1981, c.379, s.19; 1983, c.183, s.2; 2009, c.196, s.11.

Section: Previous  40-74-14  40-74-15  40-74-16  40-74-17  40-74-18  40-74-19  40-75-1  40-75-2  40-75-2.1  40-75-25  40-75-26  40-75-27  40-75-28  40-75-29  40-75-30  Next

Last modified: October 11, 2016