North Carolina General Statutes § 116-73 Joint committee for administration of fund; rules and regulations

"The Scholarship Loan Fund for Prospective College Teachers" shall be the responsibility of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina and the State Board of Education and will be administered by them through a joint committee, "The College Scholarship Loan Committee." This Committee will operate under the following rules and regulations and under such further rules and regulations as the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina and the State Board of Education shall jointly promulgate.

(1)        The nomination of applicants and recommendations of renewals shall be the responsibility of the College Scholarship Loan Committee.

(2)        Loans should be made for a single academic year (nine months) with renewal possible for two successive years for students successfully pursuing masters or doctoral programs. Loans shall not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) for single students and three thousand dollars ($3,000) for married students.

(3)        All scholarship loans shall be evidenced by notes, with sufficient sureties, made payable to the State Board of Education, and shall bear interest at the rate of four percent (4%) per annum from and after September 1 following the awarding of the candidate's degree.

(4)        Recipients of loans may have them repaid by teaching in a college or other educational institution beyond the high school level in North Carolina upon completion of their masters or doctorate degree program, at the rate of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per month for each month of such teaching. If a student supported by a loan in this program should fail to so teach in a North Carolina institution, the  loan would become repayable to the State, with interest, for  that part of the teaching commitment not met, said note to be repaid according to the terms thereof.

(5)        Loans for 12 weeks of summer study, carrying stipends not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) for single and married students, should be available to students who do not plan to attend postgraduate school as full-time students during the regular academic year. Recipients should be eligible for up to three renewals over a four-year period. The obligation to teach in a North Carolina college or other educational institution, or failing that, to repay the State, shall apply proportionally as indicated above. (1965, c. 1148, s. 1; 1971, c. 1244, s. 14.)

Sections:  Previous  116-66  116-68  116-68.1  116-69  116-69.1  116-71  116-72  116-73  116-74  116-74.6  116-74.7  116-74.21  116-74.41  116-74.42  116-74.43  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014