North Carolina General Statutes § 120-279 (Effective until June 30, 2015) Organization of Commission

(a)        The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each designate a cochair of the Joint Legislative Commission on the Department of Transportation Disadvantaged Minority-Owned and Women-Owned Businesses Program. The Commission shall meet upon the joint call of the cochairs.

(b)        A quorum of the Commission is seven members. No action may be taken except by a majority vote at a meeting at which a quorum is present. While in the discharge of its official duties, the Commission has the powers of a joint commission under G.S. 120-19 and G.S. 120-19.1 through G.S. 120-19.4.

(c)        Members of the Commission receive subsistence and travel expenses as provided in G.S. 120-3.1. The Commission may contract for consultants or hire employees in accordance with G.S. 120-32.02. The Legislative Services Commission, through the Legislative Services Officer, shall assign professional staff to assist the Commission in its work. Upon the direction of the Legislative Services Commission, the Directors of Legislative Assistants of the Senate and of the House of Representatives shall assign clerical staff to the Commission. The expenses for clerical employees shall be borne by the Commission. (2006-261, s. 5.)

Sections:  Previous  120-232  120-233  120-234  120-235  120-236  120-270  120-271  120-275  120-276  120-277  120-278  120-279  120-285  120-286  120-287  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014