North Carolina General Statutes § 143B-91 State Library Commission - members; selection; quorum; compensation

(a)        The State Library Commission shall consist of 15 members. All members shall have an interest in the development of library and information services in North Carolina. Eight members shall be appointed by the Governor. One member shall be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. One member shall be appointed by the Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives. Three members shall be appointed by the North Carolina Public Library Directors Association. Two members shall be the President and the President-elect of the North Carolina Library Association or two appointees as determined by the North Carolina Library Association's Board of Directors. The State Librarian shall be an ex officio member and act as secretary to the Commission.

All appointments shall be for four-year terms with eight of the commissioners taking office on the first four-year cycle and seven commissioners taking office on the second four-year cycle. Any appointment to fill a vacancy in one of the positions appointed by the Governor, President Pro Tempore or Speaker of the House of Representatives shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term. Appointees shall not serve more than two successive four-year terms.

The Governor shall choose a chairperson from among the gubernatorial appointees. The chairperson shall serve not more than two successive two-year terms as chair.

Members of the Commission shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses as provided in G.S. 138-5.

A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

All clerical and other services required by the Commission shall be supplied by the Secretary of Cultural Resources.

The Commission shall meet at least twice a year.

(b)        There shall be standing committees established to advise the Secretary of Cultural Resources, the Commission, and the State Librarian. These committees shall be: Public Library Development; Interlibrary Cooperation; State Government Information Services; State Library Development; and any other committee deemed appropriate. Each committee shall be composed of a committee chairperson and at least six persons appointed annually by the Secretary of Cultural Resources with the approval of the Commission. At least one of the members of each committee shall be a member of the Commission. Each committee shall report to the Commission at least once a year. (1973, c. 476, s. 83; 1981, c. 918, s. 3; 1991, c. 757, s. 3; 1995, c. 490, s. 53.)

Sections:  Previous  143B-84  143B-85  143B-86  143B-87  143B-87.2  143B-88  143B-90  143B-91  143B-92  143B-93  143B-94  143B-95  143B-96  143B-97  143B-98  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014