Oregon Statutes - Chapter 432 - Vital Statistics - Section 432.405 - Filing of marriage record; rules.

(1) A record of each marriage performed in this state shall be filed with the Center for Health Statistics and shall be registered if it has been completed and filed in accordance with this section and rules adopted by the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics.

(2) The county clerk or county official who issues the marriage license shall prepare the record in the form prescribed or furnished by the state registrar upon the basis of information obtained from the parties to be married.

(3) Each person who performs a marriage ceremony shall certify the fact of marriage and return the record to the official who issued the license within 10 days after the ceremony.

(4) Every official issuing marriage licenses shall complete and forward to the Center for Health Statistics on or before the 10th day of each calendar month the records of marriages returned to such official during the preceding calendar month.

(5) A marriage record not filed within the time prescribed by this section may be registered in accordance with rules adopted by the state registrar. [Amended by 1983 c.709 §17; 1997 c.783 §35]

Note: The amendments to 432.405 by section 18, chapter 99, Oregon Laws 2007, are the subject of a referendum petition that may be filed with the Secretary of State not later than September 26, 2007. If the referendum petition is filed with the required number of signatures of electors, chapter 99, Oregon Laws 2007, will be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the regular general election held on November 4, 2008. If approved by the people at the general election, chapter 99, Oregon Laws 2007, takes effect December 4, 2008. If the referendum petition is not filed with the Secretary of State or does not contain the required number of signatures of electors, the amendments to 432.405 by section 18, chapter 99, Oregon Laws 2007, take effect January 1, 2008. 432.405, as amended by section 18, chapter 99, Oregon Laws 2007, is set forth for the userís convenience.

432.405. (1) A record of each marriage performed and domestic partnership registered in this state shall be filed with the Center for Health Statistics and shall be registered if it has been completed and filed in accordance with this section and rules adopted by the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics.

(2) The county clerk or county official who issues the marriage license or registers the Declaration of Domestic Partnership shall prepare the record in the form prescribed or furnished by the state registrar upon the basis of information obtained from the parties.

(3) Each person who performs a marriage ceremony shall certify the fact of marriage and return the record to the official who issued the license within 10 days after the ceremony.

(4) Every official issuing marriage licenses or registering Declarations of Domestic Partnership shall complete and forward to the Center for Health Statistics on or before the 10th day of each calendar month the records of marriages returned to such official during the preceding calendar month and the records of Declarations of Domestic Partnership registered during the preceding calendar month.

(5) A marriage or domestic partnership record not filed within the time prescribed by this section may be registered in accordance with rules adopted by the state registrar.

Section:  Previous  432.327  432.330  432.333  432.335  432.337  432.340  432.345  432.405  432.408  432.410  432.412  432.415  432.420  432.425  432.430  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008