Oregon Statutes - Chapter 462 - Racing - Section 462.190 - Restrictions on minors; selling wagering tickets to minors or visibly intoxicated persons.

(1) No person under 18 years of age shall enter upon a race course at any time where races are being conducted in which wagering is permitted, except:

(a) When accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is the personís parent, guardian or spouse; or

(b) When persons 14 years of age or older are in the performance of a duty incident to employment.

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, no person under 12 years of age shall after 6 p.m. enter upon a race course where races are being conducted in which wagering is permitted, except this section shall not apply to any annual state or county fair or fair-type exposition on the same premises where a race meet is being conducted by the same licensee.

(3) No person under 18 years of age shall, except when in the performance of a duty incident to employment, loiter in the wagering area of a race course. The Oregon Racing Commission shall designate and require the marking of the wagering area at each race course.

(4) No licensee conducting a race meet shall sell a mutuel wagering ticket or receipt to a person under 18 years of age or to a person who is visibly intoxicated.

(5) No person shall purchase a mutuel wagering ticket or receipt for or on behalf of a person under 18 years of age. [1957 c.313 §17; 1973 c.827 §45; 1979 c.698 §5; 1983 s.s. c.7 §11; 1997 c.865 §9]

Section:  Previous  462.142  462.145  462.150  462.160  462.170  462.180  462.185  462.190  462.195  462.200  462.210  462.220  462.230  462.240  462.250  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008