Oregon Statutes - Chapter 837 - Aircraft Operation - Section 837.020 - Registration of pilots; renewal.

(1) In the interest of public safety and the safety of those people traveling by air or receiving aviation instruction, every pilot operating within this state shall register with the Oregon Department of Aviation within 60 days of issuance of any appropriate effective federal certificate, permit, rating or license relating to competency as a pilot except that student pilots shall register prior to their first solo flight. A nonresident pilot of a scheduled or nonscheduled airline, certificated by the appropriate federal agency, is not required to register under the provisions of this section unless the nonresident pilot engages in the piloting of aircraft other than such certificated operation. Nonresidents operating within this state, other than in a commercial operation, shall register with the department within 60 days of the date of arrival within the state. Pilots operating commercially shall register prior to any commercial operation.

(2) Every registered pilot shall renew the first registration on the anniversary of the first registration date. After the first renewal, each pilot shall renew registration on the anniversary of the first registration date in the first year of each two-year period in which the pilot is active as a pilot.

(3) Every registered pilot shall notify the department in writing within 30 days of a change of address or name. The notification shall contain the old and new residence address or name and the pilot registration number. [Formerly 493.040; 1991 c.186 §1; 2007 c.768 §57]

Section:  Previous  837.005  837.010  837.015  837.020  837.025  837.030  837.035  837.040  837.045  837.050  837.055  837.060  837.065  837.070  837.075  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008