(a) A nonresident of this state who is age 16 or older, shall not take, catch, kill, possess, or attempt to take, catch, kill, or possess any fish in any of the waters of this state except those waters for which a license is required by Section 9-11-53, below that line defined in Rule 220-2-.42(1) of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources as published in the Alabama Administrative Code, by angling with rod and reel or by use of any artificial bait, fly, lure, gig, cast net, bow, crab traps that are not required to be licensed by Section 9-12-124, or by spear fishing, as defined by Section 9-11-170, without first procuring a nonresident saltwater fishing license. The cost of nonresident saltwater fishing licenses shall be as follows:
(1) A nonresident annual saltwater fishing license shall cost forty-four dollars ($44), plus a one dollar ($1) issuance fee, which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-69.
(2) A nonresident seven-day trip saltwater fishing license shall cost twenty-four dollars ($24), plus a one dollar ($1) issuance fee, which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-69. A nonresident seven-day trip fishing license shall authorize a nonresident to fish during those hours occurring during the then current license year for a period not to exceed 168 hours from the beginning date and time, as selected and designated by the licensee to the issuing agent at the time of issuance for a one-time period of seven consecutive days.
(b) The license fee for nonresidents who are residents of the States of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Tennessee, or Mississippi, upon submittal of a valid driver's license issued by one of those states, or in the case of nondrivers, proof of residency of one of those states, shall be the same as the license fee charged Alabama residents for a similar license in one of those states in the event the state charges Alabama residents more than the State of Alabama charges residents from that state.
(c) The revenue derived from the sale of the licenses provided for in this section shall be remitted to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the first day of each month by the issuing officer and shall be deposited into the State Treasury to the credit of the Marine Resources Fund and shall be used in the research, management, and development of saltwater fisheries.
(d) Any person who violates this section shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor punishable as provided by law except that the minimum fine shall not be less than fifty dollars ($50).
Last modified: May 3, 2021