Code of Alabama - Title 9: Conservation and Natural Resources - Section 9-11-55 - Nonresident freshwater fishing licenses - Annual license; penalty

Section 9-11-55 - Nonresident freshwater fishing licenses - Annual license; penalty.

Nonresidents of the state 16 years of age or older shall not take, catch, kill or attempt to take, catch, or kill any fish in any of the fresh waters of this state without first procuring an annual nonresident freshwater fishing license which shall authorize the holder to fish in any legally available fresh waters of this state, by filing with any person authorized to issue the license an affidavit stating the applicant's age, place of residence, and post office address and after paying to the person issuing the license a fee of forty-four dollars ($44), plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee, which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-68. The license fees for residents of the states of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Mississippi shall, upon submittal of a valid driver license issued by one of those states or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of residency of one of those states, be the same as the license fees charged Alabama residents for similar licenses in those states in the event the state charges Alabama residents more than Alabama charges residents from that state. Licenses shall not be required of persons properly licensed for trip fishing under Section 9-11-56.

The issuing officer or authority or special agent shall be allowed the issuance fee set out herein for each license issued by him or her, which issuing fee shall be in addition to the cost of the license. In counties where the probate judge or issuing officer is on the fee system, the issuing fee shall be retained by the probate judge or issuing officer, and in counties where the probate judge or issuing officer is on a salary basis, the fee shall be paid by him or her into the county treasury to the credit of the appropriate fund.

All of the license fees shall be deposited in the State Treasury to the credit of the Game and Fish Fund.

Any person who violates this section is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor punishable as provided by law except that the minimum fine shall not be less than fifty dollars ($50).

There shall be provided on the license form for the licenses provided for in this section a check-off option whereby the licensee may voluntarily choose to donate an additional one dollar ($1) to the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries for the purpose of research on fisheries and aquatic habitat as approved by the Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632, §38; Code 1940, T. 8, §39; Acts 1977, No. 351, p. 468, §1; Acts 1984, No. 84-446, p. 1040, §5; Acts 1986, Ex. Sess., No. 86-649, p. 31, §1; Acts 1993, No. 93-322, p. 486, §5; Act 2007-418, p. 874, §1.)

Last modified: May 3, 2021