New York Education Law Section 352 - State university of New York established.

352. State university of New York established. 1. There is hereby created in the state education department and within the university of the state of New York as established under the board of regents a corporation to be known as the state university of New York which shall be responsible for the planning, supervision and administration of facilities and programs in accordance with the plan proposed by the state university trustees as approved by the regents pursuant to section two hundred thirty-seven of this chapter. The state university shall provide for higher education supported in whole or in part with state moneys in accordance with the provisions of section three hundred fifty-eight hereof, and shall perform such other duties as may be entrusted to it by the provisions of this article and any other law. Subject to the terms of any agreement to which it is a party, such corporation shall have the care, custody, control and management of the lands, grounds, buildings, facilities and equipment used for the purposes of the state-operated institutions of the state university, and it shall have power to protect, preserve and improve the same.

2. Whenever such corporation acquires, absorbs, merges or consolidates with or becomes the successor to any higher educational institution, all the right, title and interest in real property held by such predecessor institution shall vest in and be held and enjoyed by the people of the state of New York and state university of New York shall thereupon be deemed to be vested with and become the successor to all right, title and interest in any personal property, or any beneficial interest therein, or any other rights and powers possessed by such institution, whether derived by gift, grant, devise or bequest, in trust or otherwise.

3. The state university shall consist of the four university centers at Albany, Binghamton, Buffalo and Stony Brook, the designated colleges of arts and sciences at Brockport, Buffalo, Cortland, Fredonia, Geneseo, New Paltz, Old Westbury, Oneonta, Oswego, Plattsburgh, Potsdam and Purchase, empire state college, the agricultural and technical colleges at Alfred, Canton, Cobleskill, Delhi, Farmingdale and Morrisville, downstate medical center, upstate medical center, the college of optometry, the college of environmental science and forestry, maritime college, the college of technology at Utica/Rome, the statutory or contract colleges at Cornell university and Alfred university, and such additional universities, colleges and other institutions, facilities and research centers as have been or hereafter may be acquired, established, operated or contracted to be operated for the state by the state university trustees.

Last modified: February 3, 2019