North Carolina General Statutes § 93E-1-7 Registration, license and certificate renewal; renewal fees; continuing education; reinstatement; replacement registrations, licenses and certificates; registration, licensure, and certification history; address changes

(a)        Trainee registrations, licenses, and certificates issued under this Chapter shall expire on the 30th day of June of every year and shall become invalid after that date unless renewed prior to the expiration date by filing an application with and paying to the Executive Director of the Board the fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00). As a prerequisite to the renewal of a trainee registration or a real estate appraiser license or certificate, the trainee registration holder, the licensee, or the certificate holder must satisfy any continuing education requirements that may be prescribed by the Board under subsection (b) of this section. The members of the General Assembly are exempt from this requirement and any education program regarding trainee supervision during their term of office. The Board may adopt rules establishing a system of trainee registration, license, and certificate renewal in which trainee registrations, licenses, and certificates expire annually with varying expiration dates.

(b)        The Board may by rule require, as a prerequisite to trainee registration, license, or certificate renewal, the completion of Board-approved education courses in subject matters determined by the Board, or courses determined by the Board to be equivalent to the instruction, not inconsistent with any requirements of federal authorities.

(b1)      Course sponsors shall pay to the Board a fee of five dollars ($5.00) for each licensee completing an approved continuing education course conducted by the sponsor.

(b2)      The Board shall not charge a course application fee, a course renewal fee, or any other fee for a continuing education course offered by a North Carolina college, university, junior college, or community or technical college accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or an agency of the federal, State, or local government.

(c)        All trainee registrations, licenses, and certificates reinstated after the expiration dates shall be subject to a late filing fee of ten dollars ($10.00) per month for each month or part thereof that the trainee registration, license, or certificate is lapsed, not to exceed one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00). The late filing fee shall be in addition to the required renewal fee. In the event a trainee, licensee, or certificate holder fails to reinstate the trainee registration, license, or certificate within 12 months after the expiration date thereof, the Board may, in its discretion, consider the person as not having been previously registered, licensed, or certified, and thereby subject to the provisions of this Chapter relating to the issuance of an original trainee registration, license, or certificate, including the examination requirements set forth herein. Applications to reinstate trainee registrations, licenses, or certificates expired for 12 or more months shall be accompanied by the fee required for an original trainee registration, license, or certificate.

(d)       Replacement trainee registrations, licenses, and certificates may be issued by the Board upon payment of ten dollars ($10.00) by the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder. Certification by the Board of the trainee registration history or the licensure or certification history of a person registered, licensed, or certified under this Chapter shall be made only after the payment of a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) to the Board. (1993, c. 419, s. 6; 1995, c. 482, s. 7; 2001-399, s. 1; 2006-259, s. 17; 2007-506, s. 8.)

Sections:  Previous  93E-1-2.1  93E-1-3  93E-1-3.1  93E-1-4  93E-1-5  93E-1-6  93E-1-6.1  93E-1-7  93E-1-8  93E-1-9  93E-1-10  93E-1-11  93E-1-12  93E-1-12.1  93E-1-13  Next

Last modified: March 23, 2014