Oregon Statutes - Chapter 184 - Administrative Services and Transportation Departments - Section 184.612 - Oregon Transportation Commission; confirmation; qualifications; term; compensation and expenses.

(1) There is established the Oregon Transportation Commission consisting of five members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate pursuant to section 4, Article III, Oregon Constitution. The Governor shall appoint members of the commission in compliance with all of the following:

(a) Members shall be appointed with consideration of the different geographic regions of the state with one member being a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range.

(b) Not more than three members shall belong to one political party. Party affiliation shall be determined by the appropriate entry on official election registration cards.

(2) The term of office of each member is four years. Before the expiration of the term of a member, the Governor shall appoint a successor whose term begins on July 1 next following. A member is eligible for reappointment. In case of a vacancy for any cause, the Governor shall appoint a person to fill the office for the unexpired term.

(3) A member of the commission is entitled to compensation and expenses as provided by ORS 292.495. [1973 c.249 §3; 1981 c.545 §3; 1983 c.428 §1]

Section:  Previous  184.575  184.577  184.580  184.590  184.595  184.610  184.611  184.612  184.613  184.615  184.616  184.617  184.618  184.619  184.620  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008