Oregon Statutes - Chapter 185 - Oregon Disabilities Commission; Commissions on Hispanic Affairs, Black Affairs and Asian Affairs; Commission for Women - Section 185.520 - Commission for Women; confirmation; term; officers; meetings; funds.

(1) The membership of the Commission for Women shall be comprised of 11 members, to include two representatives from the Legislative Assembly, one appointed by the President of the Senate, one appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Nine members shall be appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate pursuant to section 4, Article III, Oregon Constitution. To the extent possible, members appointed by the Governor shall provide for representation from all areas of the state. All of the members of the commission shall be residents of this state.

(2) Members appointed by the Governor shall serve for three-year terms. Legislators shall serve two-year terms.

(3) The Governor shall designate the chairperson of the commission to serve for a term of one year.

(4) Members shall meet at the call of the chairperson not less than three times annually.

(5) Consistent with Oregon law, the commission may receive and accept funds for purposes consistent with the creation of the commission. [1983 c.105 §2; 2005 c.818 §7a]

Section:  Previous  185.350  185.410  185.420  185.430  185.440  185.450  185.510  185.520  185.530  185.540  185.550  185.560  185.570  185.610  185.620  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008