Oregon Statutes - Chapter 682 - Regulation of Ambulance Services and Emergency Medical Personnel - Section 682.216 - Issuance of certificates; fees; provisional certification; indorsement certification; continuing education; renewal; rules; driver license requirement.

(1) When application has been made as required under ORS 682.208, the Department of Human Services shall certify the applicant as an emergency medical technician or as a first responder if it finds:

(a) The applicant has successfully completed a training course approved by the department.

(b) The applicant’s physical and mental qualifications have been certified as required under ORS 682.208.

(c) No matter has been brought to the attention of the department which would disqualify the applicant.

(d) A nonrefundable fee has been paid to the department pursuant to ORS 682.212.

(e) The applicant for emergency medical technician certification is 18 years of age or older and the applicant for first responder is 16 years of age or older.

(f) The applicant has successfully completed examination as prescribed by the department.

(g) The applicant meets other requirements prescribed by rule of the department.

(2) The department may provide for the issuance of a provisional certification for emergency medical technicians.

(3) The department may issue by indorsement certification for emergency medical technician without proof of completion of an approved training course to an emergency medical technician who is licensed to practice emergency care in another state of the United States or a foreign country if, in the opinion of the department, the applicant meets the requirements of certification in this state and can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the department competency to practice emergency care. The department shall be the sole judge of credentials of any emergency medical technician applying for certification without proof of completion of an approved training course.

(4) Each person holding a certificate under ORS 682.208 and this section shall submit, at the time of application for renewal of the certificate to the department, evidence of the applicant’s satisfactory completion of a department approved program of continuing education and other requirements prescribed by rule by the department.

(5) The department shall prescribe criteria and approve programs of continuing education in emergency and nonemergency care to meet the requirements of this section.

(6) The department shall include a fee pursuant to ORS 682.212 for late renewal and for issuance of any duplicate certificate. Each certification issued under this section, unless sooner suspended or revoked, shall expire and be renewable after a period of two years. Each certificate must be renewed on or before June 30 of every second year or on or before such date as may be specified by department rule. The department by rule shall establish a schedule of certificate renewals under this subsection and shall prorate the fees to reflect any shorter certificate period.

(7) Nothing in this chapter authorizes an emergency medical technician or first responder to operate an ambulance without a driver license as required under the Oregon Vehicle Code. [Formerly 682.157; 2007 c.768 §47]

Section:  Previous  682.200  682.204  682.205  682.208  682.210  682.212  682.215  682.216  682.220  682.224  682.225  682.235  682.245  682.255  682.265  Next

Last modified: August 7, 2008